Memory & Privacy Settings

Settings

Advanced Settings

JavaScript API Documentation


Clear Cache on Content Refresh

This setting allows Kiosk Pro to clear the cache at the end of a visitor session.

Default: Off

Clearing the cache on return to the homepage can be useful for users who need their content to reload entirely, for example, to ensure that any data entered by a visitor is cleared by the system.

Clearing cache is triggered when:

  • the Idle Time Limit is executed
  • a visitor taps the Home icon in the navigation bar
  • ‘kiosk://home’ is called
  • the JavaScript API is used to trigger the idle timer

In addition, there are certain circumstances where the cache may be cleared even with this setting turned off:

  • on exit and relaunch of the app
  • on remote update of settings and/or content
  • if Refresh Homepage is enabled

In circumstances where the visitor taps a standard link that returns then to the homepage or navigates back to the homepage using the Back icon in the bottom navigation, the app will not immediately clear cache, but instead will wait for one of the actions outlined above.

Basic Authentication Requests
To prevent users from having to complete authentication requests multiple times, Kiosk Pro saves this data automatically and clears it when the app is terminated. While this setting is turned On, authentication data will also be cleared when cache clearing is triggered.


Clear Local Storage on Content Refresh

Added in version 8.5

This setting allows Kiosk Pro to clear local storage at the end of a visitor session.

Default: Off

Clearing the local storage is useful for content that saves data for long-term usage. For example, when displaying a survey that asks a question on separate pages, the content can be saved to local storage and be accessed even after navigating through multiple pages.

This setting will clear HTML5 local storage, WebSQL databases, and IndexedDB databases.

Clearing local storage is triggered when:

  • the Idle Time Limit is executed
  • a visitor taps the Home icon in the navigation bar
  • ‘kiosk://home’ is called
  • the JavaScript API is used to trigger the idle timer

In addition, there are certain circumstances where the cookies and session storage may be cleared even with this setting turned off:

  • on exit and relaunch of the app
  • on remote update of settings and/or content
  • if Refresh Homepage is enabled

In circumstances where the visitor taps a standard link that returns them to the homepage or navigates back to the homepage using the Back icon in the navigation bar, the app will not immediately clear local storage, but instead will wait for one of the actions outlined above.


Clear Cookies & Session Storage on Content Refresh

This setting allows Kiosk Pro to clear any cookies (in both UIWebView & WKWebView) and HTML session storage (only in WKWebView) set by a site at the end of a visitor session.

Default: Off

Clearing cookies might be used on kiosks where a user can sign in to applications to make sure that he or she is signed out when the application times out or to make sure that any sensitive information entered by the visitor is cleared from system memory.

HTML session storage is created by a site and designed to be discarded when a session is over.

Clearing cookies and session storage is triggered when:

  • the Idle Time Limit is executed
  • a visitor taps the Home icon in the navigation bar
  • ‘kiosk://home’ is called
  • the JavaScript API is used to trigger the idle timer

In addition, there are certain circumstances where the cookies and session storage may be cleared even with this setting turned off:

  • on exit and relaunch of the app
  • on remote update of settings and/or content

In circumstances where the visitor taps a standard link that returns then to the homepage or navigates back to the homepage using the Back icon in the Navigation Bar, the app will not immediately clear cookies, but instead will wait for one of the actions outlined above.

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?